JFUNU Scholarships for Developing Countries in Japan, 2023

The United Nations University Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability (UNU-IAS) is offering scholarships for developing countries. These scholarships are offered for pursuing a PhD programme in Sustainability Science.AdvertisementThe PhD programme in Sustainability Science aims to produce scholars who will become key researchers in the field of sustainability science.

  • Award
  • Application Process
  • Clarity of Information



Nice offer for international students in Japan


3.5 (4 votes)

The United Nations University Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability (UNU-IAS) is a leading research and teaching institute based in Tokyo, Japan.

Application Deadline: The deadline for applications is 19 January 2023.

Brief Description

  • Course Level: Scholarships are available for pursuing PhD degree at United Nations University.
  • Study Subject: Scholarships are awarded in the area of Sustainability Science.
  • Awards: The JFUNU scholarship provides a monthly allowance of 120,000 JPY* for living expenses for a maximum of 36 months. However, travel costs to and from Japan, visa handling fees, and health/accident insurance costs must be covered by the student. The tuition fees are fully waived for the scholarship recipients.
  • Number of Scholarships: Not given
  • Nationality: Developing countries
  • Scholarship can be taken in Japan


  • Eligible Countries: Students from developing countries can apply for this scholarship.List of Countries: Afghanistan, Gambia, Mozambique, Bangladesh, Guinea, Myanmar, Benin, Guinea-Bisau, Nepal, Burkina Faso, Haiti, Niger, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Cambodia, Korea, Dem Rep., Sierra Leone, Central African Republic, Kyrgyz Republic, Somalia, Liberia, Tajikistan, Comoros, Madagascar, Tanzania, Malawi, Togo, Congo, Dem. Rep, Eritrea, Mali, Uganda, Ethiopia, Mauritania, Zimbabwe, Albania, Indonesia, Samoa, Armenia, India, São Tomé and Principe, Belize, Iraq, Senegal, Bhutan, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Bolivia, Kosovo, South Sudan, Cameroon, Lao PDR, Sri Lanka, Cape Verde, Lesotho, Sudan, Congo, Rep., Marshall Islands, Swaziland, Côte d’Ivoire, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Syrian Arab Republic, Djibouti, Moldova, Timor-Leste, Egypt, Arab Rep., Mongolia, Tonga, El Salvador, Morocco, Ukraine, Fiji, Nicaragua, Uzbekistan, Georgia, Nigeria, Vanuatu, Ghana, Pakistan, Vietnam, Guatemala, Papua New Guinea, West Bank and Gaza, Guyana, Paraguay, Yemen, Rep., Honduras, Philippines, Zambia, Angola, Ecuador, Palau, Algeria, Gabon, Panama, American Samoa, Grenada, Peru, Antigua and Barbuda, Iran, Islamic Rep., Romania, Argentina, Jamaica, Russian Federation, Azerbaijan, Jordan, Serbia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Seychelles, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Latvia, South Africa, Botswana, Lebanon, St. Lucia, Brazil, Libya, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Bulgaria, Lithuania, Suriname, Chile, Macedonia, FYR, Thailand, China, Malaysia, Tunisia, Colombia, Maldives, Turkey, Costa Rica, Mauritius, Turkmenistan, Cuba, Mexico, Tuvalu, Dominica, Montenegro and Uruguay)
  • Entrance Requirements: 
    1. Applicants must be from developing countries* who can demonstrate a need for financial assistance.
    2. Applicants who are currently living in Japan under a working visa are not eligible for the scholarship.
    3. Applicants who want to pursue a second PhD degree at UNU-IAS are not eligible for the scholarship.
    *Developing countries included in the latest OECD DAC list.Applicants for the PhD in Sustainability Science are required to have met ALL of the following requirements by the application deadline in order to be considered:1. A strong interest in sustainability studies;2. A demonstrated commitment to study and understand global issues;3. A completed Master’s degree in disciplines related to sustainability studies and a minimum of 2 years of practical field experience related to UNU-IAS research themes which were acquired after obtaining a university degreeORTwo completed Master’s degrees, at least one of which must be in a discipline related to sustainability studies;4. A GPA of 3.5 or above on a 4.0 scale for at least one of the Master’s degrees earned; and

Application Procedure:

Introduction – UNU-IAS requires online applications to be considered. There are several things you can do if your internet access is limited. You can:

  • Work on part of your application and return to it at any time before submitting it. Just remember your login.
  • Use computers provided at school, libraries, internet cafes, or by a friend.
  • Print out a SAMPLE online application form and find the answers to the questions while you are offline.
  • Store your answers online or in a portable external hard drive (or USB stick) and cut and paste your answers into the application.
  • How to Apply: During the admission selection process, outstanding applicants from developing countries with financial need will be automatically considered as candidates for the award of scholarships at UNU-IAS. Thus, no separate application is necessary.
  • English Language Requirements: The minimum score requirements for English language qualifications required by UNU-IAS are:
    • 600 on TOEFL – Paper-Based Testing (PBT) OR
    • 100 on TOEFL – Internet-Based Testing (IBT) OR
    • 7.0 on IELTS – Academic format
    Applicants, except for the cases below, must submit original TOEFL or IELTS score reports (from a test taken within the last two years) to the Admissions Office at the time of application:
    1. Applicants whose native language is English.
    2. Applicants who graduated from a university or a postgraduate school located in an English speaking country.
    3. Applicants who completed an undergraduate or postgraduate degree programme where the language of instruction and examination was English. In this case, an official statement from the academic institution will be required, confirming the use of English as the language of instruction and examination.

Scholarship Link